USPS Board of Governors Hearings Scheduled


The Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs has scheduled hearings Wednesday, April 18 to examine the nominations of David Williams, of Illinois, Robert M. Duncan, of Kentucky, and Calvin R. Tucker, of Pennsylvania, each to be a Governor of the United States Postal Service. Information about the hearing can be found here:

Without a BOG, the USPS is not able to move promotions, rate changes or basic classification changes forward. This means we may see some promotions in 2018. If the candidates are confirmed, the promotions will still need to be brought before them and then approved by the PRC.

The term of the last Governor (out of nine) expired on December 8, 2016. By law, the USPS must notify the PRC of any changes to rates, fees or basic classification rules. Such filings require the prior approval of the Postal Service’s Board of Governors.  The Board of Governors now consists of only the Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General.  With no politically appointed members they do not have the authority to approve rate changes or basic classification changes.

Additional Background:
On October 26, 2017, the White House announced nominations for three individuals to be postal governors. The Senate has not confirmed the nominations.

  • Calvin R. Tucker of Pennsylvania, for the remainder of a term expiring December 8, 2023. President and CEO, Eagles Capital Advisors, LLC, a financial, management & Economic Development Consultant firm.
  • Robert M. Duncan of Kentucky, for the remainder of a seven-year term expiring December 8, 2018, and an additional term expiring December 8, 2025. A 40-year political strategist and veteran of Republican politics, served as the 60th chairman of the Republican National Committee (RNC) from 2007-2009.
  • David C. Williams of Illinois, for the remainder of a seven-year term expiring December 8, 2019. Williams was sworn in as the second independent Inspector General (IG) for the U.S. Postal Service on August 20, 2003.