Kubayanda Confirmed for PRC


On January 2, 2019, the Senate – via voice vote – confirmed Michael Kubayanda to fill the open Postal Regulatory Commissioner position formerly held by Ruth Goldway. Mr. Kubayanda’s confirmation hearing can be seen here:  https://www.c-span.org/video/?452363-1/census-bureau-postal-regulatory-commission-nominees-testify-confirmation-hearing. The appointment runs until November 22, 2020.

Mr. Kubayanda serves as a board member and privacy officer for a digital health startup.   Michael previously worked with the Office of Inspector General (OIG) of the U.S. Postal Service, ending as director of government relations, in which he worked with OIG officials to support the work of inspectors general in data analytics.  In the OIG’s research group, he oversaw research on technical issues and wrote reports addressing postal economics and price regulation, intellectual property, and public-private partnerships, while serving as an advisor to colleagues on issues such as privacy, knowledge management, and innovation.  Prior to the OIG, he served on the staff of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform.  Michael holds degrees from Georgetown University, Northwestern University, The Ohio State University, and studied at the Graduate Institute in Geneva, Switzerland.

Background: The Commission is composed of five Commissioners. They are appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, for a term of six years. Not more than 3 of the Commissioners may be adherents of the same political party.

Current Commissioners Term Expiration Date
Chairman Robert G. Taub (R) Oct. 14, 2022
Vice Chairman Tony Hammond (R) Oct. 14, 2018
Commissioner Mark Acton (R) Oct. 14, 2022
Commissioner Nanci E. Langley (D) Nov. 22, 2018
Vacant Nov. 22, 2020